A Complete List of the CFDA Fashion Award Winners of 2020

While this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards lacked the pomp and circumstance afforded by its usual star-studded red carpet (we’ll never forget Jennifer Lopez or Rihanna abs in Adam Selman), the show continued to celebrate the best American fashion designers of the year. The event was originally scheduled for June 8, 2020, but has been canceled in response to the ongoing pandemic. Completely replacing the gala, CFDA board chairman Tom Ford announced his winners in a video released today.

This content is imported from YouTube. You may be able to find the same content in another format, or you may be able to find more information, on their website.

“2020 has been anything but typical, and we’ve decided to forgo the in-person event and announce the winners here today at the start of New York Fashion Week.” Ford states in the video. “Not having a gala allows us to focus on supporting creators during the global pandemic and redirecting our efforts towards scholarships and bringing racial equity into fashion.”

The CFDA Fashion Awards function like the Oscars of the industry, with nominees and winners chosen by its peers of CFDA members, including leading fashion journalists, stylists and retail executives. Past winners include Marc Jacobs, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, and even Supreme. In a point of pride, the CFDA press release stated that this season’s overall winners “represent the most diverse group of recipients in the 39-year history of the awards.”

In addition to announcing the winners, the CFDA also declares the recipients of the CFDA Scholar Awards 2020, which have increased its annual scholarships from $ 100,000 to $ 175,000 out of seven eligible scholarships of $ 25,000.

Read on for the full list of 2019 CFDA winners below.

American Women’s Clothing Designer of the Year

Gabriela Hearst

American Designer of the Year for Men

Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christopher john rogers

International Female Designer of the Year

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

International Male Designer of the Year

Kim Jones for Dior

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported to this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content on piano.io

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: