Fashion competitions: registration is open for the International Woolmark Prize 2021

Fashion competitions are one of the opportunities with which designers, especially in difficult times such as the current one, dream of realizing their dreams and seeing their brand grow.

Registration is open for the new edition of the International Woolmark Prize, the prestigious award also won in the past by Karl Lagerfeld, Yves Saint Laurent, Ralph Lauren.

During London Fashion Week last year, the absolute final of the International Woolmark Prize 2020 proclaimed Irish designer Richard Malone the absolute winner, while BODE was instead the first winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation, an award dedicated to innovation that takes its name from the famous designer.

How to participate?

Through the online portal, designers from all over the world can apply who respect the application criteria and who sell their products on the market for a minimum of two years to a maximum of eight at the time of application.

It will then be up to the Advisory Council to examine all the candidates and select the ten finalists. In particular, the committee of experts will try to identify the young promises who, already in the early stages of their career, commit themselves to the growth of a sustainable business not yet known globally and are distinguished by the innovative use of fabrics and yarns.

The prices

The ten finalists of one of the most important fashion competitions will be awarded a financial contribution of AU $ 70,000 (approximately € 38,640) for the development of a capsule collection in Merino wool to be presented at the final to be held in early 2021. In addition, the Selected designers will have the opportunity to participate in The Woolmark Company’s Innovation Academy, the 18-month tutoring and training program that aims to help brands tackle sustainable growth while respecting society and the environment through support in research, product development and business strategies. The total prize pool for the International Woolmark Prize 2021 is AU $ 1 million. The overall winner will receive an economic contribution of AU $ 200,000 (approximately 110,000 euros) while the winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will receive AU $ 100,000 (approximately 55,000 euros). The winners and finalists will also have the opportunity to distribute and sell their Merino wool collections in the best boutiques and retail partners of the International Woolmark Prize.

“Now more than ever we must give hope to young designers and be more united, without geographical or cultural limits – explains Stuart McCullough, Managing Director of The Woolmark Company – Through the online application system, we make it possible for designers from all over the world to register for the International Woolmark Prize. We also thank the constant support of all international partners who help us identify the best talents every year “.

Find out more at

Did you know that Karl Lagerfel and Yves Saint Laurent met at an award final? Our podcast of the Masters of Fashion series tells it:

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: