The Winners of the 2020 CFDA Awards Are The Most Diverse in the Event’s 39-Year History

Photo by Dominik Bindl / Getty Images for NYFW: The Shows

This year’s list of winners also included four first-time winners.

As with most things this year, the awards ceremonies are a bit different in that most are held virtually. The CFDA Awards are one such event. Taking place in June of each year, the CFDA Awards – dubbed the Oscars of the fashion world – are a highlight on the industry’s calendar. This year, the event was first postponed indefinitely, then confirmed to take place during NYFW S / S21, albeit in a digital capacity. Overnight, the winners of the 2020 CFDA Awards were announced via NYFW’s online platform, Runway360.

In a pre-recorded video, President Tom Ford said: “Since 1981, the CFDA Fashion Awards have recognized the best in fashion creativity. But 2020 has been anything but typical, and we’ve decided to forgo the in-person event and instead announce the winners here today at the start of New York Fashion Week. Not having a gala allows us to focus on supporting creators during the global pandemic and shifting our focus towards scholarships and making racial equality all the rage. For this year alone, we have decided to focus exclusively on our nominated designers.

This year’s winners represent the most diverse group of recipients in the 39-year history of the awards with three black designers – Kerby Jean-Raymond, Christopher John Rogers and Telfar Clemens – taking home top awards in their respective categories and Gabriela Hearst becoming the first designer to win the Women’s Fashion Award since 2015 (she was also the only female winner in this year’s lineup).

Discover the winners of the CFDA Awards 2020 below:

American Women’s Clothing Designer of the Year

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Brandon maxwell
Gabriela Hearst * WINNER *
Marc Jacobs
Tom ford

American Designer of the Year for Men

Emily Adams Bode for Bode
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss *WINNER*
Thom browne
Todd Snyder
Tom ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
Gabriela Hearst
Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Telfar Clemens for Telfar * WINNER *

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christoper John Rogers *WINNER*
Kenneth nicolson
Peter Do
Reese cooper
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Clothing Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
Dries Van Noten
Miuccia Prada
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino *WINNER*
Rick owens

Global Menswear Designer of the Year

Craig green
Dries Van Noten
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Kim Jones for Dior *WINNER*
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Source link

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.